Sweet Greek

View As Web Page
Greece is not a big dessert country.  Outside of it’s strong basics, baklava, spoon sweets, and bakery-cookies, Greeks are not that big on sweets.  Well at first this is how it seems.  However, today I discovered that Greek is sweet.  Beginning our day with a trip to tour a graduate level library that we have access to, our professors treated us to some Loukomaddes in Kolonaki afterwards.  Loukomaddes are essentially doughnuts.  But, they are way better than American doughnuts.  Imagine homemade, fried dough that is light and heavy, crispy and soft, sweet and more sweet.  They are warm and drizzled in honey and cinnamon.  One plate contained six Loukomaddes. Six.  As I split the plate with two other girls I realized that Greece is sweeter than I thought.  

Later on that day, my Greek teacher Apostolos brought our class to the neighborhood’s bakery because, “we need to learn how to order at a bakery and what everything is…so lets go and do it.”  In that tiny bakery, Apostolos opened my eyes and taste buds to all that is sweet in Greece.  And in true Apostolos fashion he bought the class a box of sweets because, “you are here, so now you must try it.”  Of course we each got not one, but two mini chocolate desserts to try.  I got them first and as I bit into the first one my face lit up because it was that good.  Apostolos says, “you like it? Is it too sweet?”  No, not too sweet.  Too small.  The second one was like a better version of a Boston crème pie doughnut.

After class my roomates and I started to pack for our trip this weekend to Kythnos.  I packed, showered, and asked a roommate for help with my hairdryer.  It wasn’t working.  So I tried a different plug.  As she tried to warn me that it might explode, it kinda did.  Sparks flew and my hair dryer turned on so loud that I screamed.  Then the hairdryer broke and I blew a fuse in our apartment.  All of us began laughing in unison and I tasted a little Greek sweetness again.

We managed to fix the fuse once we stopped laughing despite the fact that all the switches are labeled in Greek; as they should be.

So maybe Greece isn’t so upfront about it’s delicious sweet treats but it’s the surprises in life that leave the best taste in your mouth.  But not everything in Greece is always sugar n spice, and I think that I’m beginning to come into the light (rhyme unintentional but slightly impressive eh?).  Because although the lights go out sometimes, you can always enjoy a nice pastry.  The Greek life is the Sweet life.

Love,

TZEINA

Ps im leaving at 530am for Kythnos until Sunday so ill be out of touch internetwise for lil bit

Leave a Reply

